

Board of Trustees One Armory Square Suite 1 • PO Box 9000 Springfield, MA 01102-9000 (413) 755-4424 • www.stcc.edu

# SPRINGFIELD TECHNICAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

# **REGULAR MEETING**

Monday, February 28, 2022 Zoom/Live Streamed via STCC YouTube Channel

# **Minutes of Meeting**

Present:	Marikate Murren, Chair Jynai McDonald, Vice-Chair Elizabeth Oleksak-Sposito, Secretary Maurice Lindsay, Alumni Trustee (late) Monique Selden-Riley, Student Trustee Samalid Hogan, Trustee William Johnson, Trustee
	MacArthur Starks, Jr., Trustee

Unable to attend: Jeff Sattler, Trustee

Also Present: Dr. John B. Cook, President Gina M. Yarbrough, General Counsel, MA Community College System Nanette Flores, Executive Assistant to the President & Board Clerk

### I. Call to Order

Trustee Chair Marikate Murren called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m.

# II. Roll Call

The following Trustees were present at roll call: Trustee Chair Marikate Murren, Vice Chair Jynai McDonald, Trustee Secretary Elizabeth Sposito, Alumni, Student Trustee Monique Selden-Riley, Trustee Samalid Hogan, Trustee William Johnson, Trustee Norman Roldan, and Trustee MacArthur Starks. Eight Trustees present, constituting a quorum.

- **III.** Open Session
  - a) Approval of Minutes Board of Trustees Meeting Monday, January 24, 2022



Trustee Norman Roldan moved to approve the minutes from the January 24, 2022 Board of Trustees meeting, seconded by Trustee Elizabeth Sposito. After no further discussion, unanimously approved through roll call.

# b) Announcement: Date of Next Meeting: Monday, March 28, 2022

### IV. Executive Session (Roll Call Vote)

Board Chair Marikate Murren called to go into Executive Session for the following reason:

Executive session pursuant to M.G.L. c.  $30A \$  21(a)(3) "to discuss strategy with respect to collective bargaining and litigation given that an open meeting may have a detrimental effect on the bargaining or litigating position of the public body."

a. MCCC et al. v. STCC, et al., Suffolk Superior Court 2184- CV-02814
b. MCCC and STCC et al., AAA 01-21-0017-2105

After stating the reason for Executive session, Chair Murren noted that after concluding the Executive session the Board will not return to open session.

Trustee Bill Johnson moved the motion to enter into Executive Session as stated, seconded by Trustee Norman Roldan.

Roll Call at 5:08 p.m. with the following Trustees present at the time to adjourn the Open Session to enter into Executive Session: Chair Marikate Murren, Vice Chair Jynai McDonald, Trustee Elizabeth Sposito, Trustee Monique Selden-Riley, Trustee Maurice Lindsay, Trustee Samalid Hogan, Trustee Bill Johnson, Trustee Norman Roldan and Trustee Mac Starks.

Marikate Murren Chair, STCC Board of Trustees

lizabeth Oleksak- Aposito

Elizabeth Oleksak-Sposito Secretary, STCC Board of Trustees